Georgetown, Arkansas Pop 126

iWebTech:  Chird Bobbitt Copyright 1997-2xxx  All Rights Reserved

Old Railroad Bridge

Mussel Shell Boat

Northern Pacific RR Locomotive

Pictures courtesy of Jo Ann Taylor, at Georgetown One Stop Catfish House

White County's past    Map

  Tornado of 1952  

1860 Census Negro Hill TWP 

Known as Negro Hill (Negro Hill or Nigger Hill) as far back as 1808 because at that time it was reportedly settled by escaped slaves. Jean Fyatt established what is probably the oldest continuous settlement in White County on the river in the late 1700's. One of the Francure brothers, Francis obtained a Spanish Grant #2416 at Georgetown containing 1361 arpens at the mouth of the Little Red River in 1789.
1996 by Bonnie Baker-Palmer; all rights reserved. This information may be used for research only. Commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior permission. If copied, this copyright notice must appear with the information. Any use via internet links or otherwise by the US GenWeb Project does not give them or any of their representatives the rights to this or any other of my written material , implied or otherwise.
That's Judsonia by W.E. "Skinny" Orr
in 1957 by White County Printing Company

Jean Fyatt established a settlement on the the Little Red  in the late 1700's, probably the first settler in White County. Francois Francure is said to have set up a trading post at what is now Georgetown in 1789 and lived on a 1,361 acre land grant from the Spanish government. In 1803 the land was ceded by France as a part of the Louisana Purchase. It was also known as Francure Township until it was named Georgetown in 1909. The M. & N.A. railroad came through town in 1908 and satyed until 1946.

From That's Judsonia, written by W.E. "Skinny" Orr in 1957 by White County Printing Company

A 1910 map I have shows Negro Hill to be a separate community established before 1867 five miles south from the mouth of the Little Red River on the west side of the White River just north of Georgetown. Chird Bobbitt

Judge Eugene Cypert (1857-1955)


202 N. Pecan, Georgetown, AR 72145

City Council:

1 Eddie Stephenson (D) 3 Gene Starks (D) 5 Bobby Bryant (D)
2 Thelma DeVolld (D) 4 Dolly Holloway (D)  

White County Tax Assessor: Debra lang  

Police Chief:
Fire Chief:
Justice of the Peace: Layne "Boss" Vaughn        MAILBOX1.GIF (1605 bytes)  District #8